Don't Miss

FEC approves eight bills for transport sector

By on February 13, 2015

The Federal Executive Council presided over by President Goodluck Jonathan on Wednesday approved eight new bills for the nation’s transport sector.

The council also ratified the National Policy on Staple Crops’ Processing Zones and the National Agency for the Great Green Wall Bill for the agriculture and environment sectors.

The ministers of Environment, Mrs. Lawrecia Mallam; Industry, Trade and Investment, Mr. Olusegun Aganga; Works, Mr. Mike Onolememen; Agriculture and Rural Development, Dr. Akinwunmi Adesina; and Transport, Mr. Idris Umar; as well as the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Dr. Reuben Abati, briefed journalists after the meeting.

According to Abati, the council has directed the Attorney-General of the Federation, Mr. Muhammed Adoke, to forward the approved bills to the National Assembly for enactment into law.

Apart from the Great Green Wall Bill, the others are the National Transport Commission Bill (2015); National Roads Fund Bill; Federal Roads Authority Bill; Nigeria Ports and Harbour Authority Bill (2015); National Inland Waterways Authority Bill (2015); Nigerian Railway Authority Bill (2015) as well as the Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Bill.

Governor Idris Wada of Kogi State, who was said to have pioneered the setting up of a staple crops processing zone in his state, also joined the ministers in briefing journalists.

He said 15 hectares of land had already been provided in Alape, Kabba Bunu Local Government Area of the state, for the project.

The governor said the project was expected to provide about 10,000 job opportunities for the people of the state.

Mallam said the Great Green Wall Project would cover 11 frontline states in the northern part of the country.

Aganga described the approved bills as “game changers,” adding that they were priority bills for the economy.