Don't Miss

Oando, NNPC and 30 others get Q1 Fuel Import License

By on January 11, 2013
Executive Secretary of the PPPRA, Mr Reginald Stanley

Executive Secretary of the PPPRA, Mr Reginald Stanley

Only 32 Companies have been issued permits to import fuel into the Country for the First Quarter of 2013 by the Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA). This is a reduction from the initial 38 Companies that were involved in the importation of fuel in the Fourth Quarter of 2012.

The Companies include,Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Aiteo Energy, Ascon Oil, Avidor Oil and Gas, A-Z Petroleum, Bovas, Conoil Plc, Dee Jones Petroleum and Gas, Dozzy Oil and Gas, Folawiyo Energy, Fresh Synergy Ltd and Forte Oil Plc.

Other Companies that got approval include First Deepwater Discovery Ltd, Gulf Treasure Ltd, Heyden Petroleum, Ibafon Oil Ltd, Integrated Oil and Gas Industries, IPMAN Refining and Marketing Ltd, Mobil Oil Plc, MRS Oil & Gas Ltd, MRS Oil Nig. Plc, NIPCO Plc, Northwest Petroleum & Gas Ltd, Oando Plc, Obat Petroleum Ltd, RainOil Ltd, Rahamaniyya Oil Gas and Sahara Energy Ltd.

Also making the list was Shorelink Oil, Swift Oil Ltd, Techno Oil Ltd and Total Nigeria Plc.

In a Statement over the approval, the Executive Secretary of the PPPRA Mr Reginald Stanley, confirmed that the number of marketers for the first quarter was reduced to 32.

He declined to give information on the volumes allocated to each oil marketers, but rather spoke further on the fact that the 32 companies selected were given their permits because of their competence .

Also the track record and buoyancy of the companies in financing the importation into the country, eased their clearance and approval. The PPPRA had been working tirelessly since 2011, to bring down the number of petroleum marketers importing fuel into the country.

The PPPRA said that it was ruthlessly pursuing the goal of reducing the number of petrol importers in the country to 20, for efficiency, viability and quality service delivery.

Some of the Companies denied license include Masters Energy, Matrix Energy, Spog Petrochemical and Capital Oil and Gas Industries. These Companies had their operations shut down because they were indebted to the Assets Management Company of Nigeria(AMCON).