Don't Miss

Here Are The Winners of the African Banker Awards 2011

By on September 25, 2011

Almost 300 guests were in attendance at the African Banker Awards 2011 that took place on the 23rd of September.

Now in its fifth year running, the African Banker Awards was one of the biggest events pertaining to the continent that took place in Washington DC in the midst of the IMF/World Bank annual meetings.

Arunma Oteh, Director-General of Nigeria’s Securities and Exchange Commission, Jean-Louis Ekra, President of Africa Export-Import Bank, and Arnold Ekpe, CEO of Ecobank were amongst the esteemed guests which included Ministers of Finance and Central bank Governors.


African Bank of the Year

Winner : Standard Bank Group of South Africa

Standard Bank Group of South Africa picked up the trophy for the equally coveted African Bank of the Year award,  presented by Houda Shoukry Managing Director of the Mediterranean Smart Cards Company (MSCC), the major sponsors of the evening.

African Banker of the Year

James Mwangi

Winner : James Mwangi, Managing Director &  CEO, Equity Bank,  Kenya

Dr James Mwangi from Kenya was declared African Banker of the Year for the second year in a row at this year’s African Banker Awards.  The MD and CEO of Kenya’s largest bank by depositors, Equity Bank, was presented with his accolade at the Awards ceremony that took place at the Willard Intercontinental Hotel.

Best Local Bank

Millennium BIM

Deal of the Year

Winner : Golden Sugar Refinery Project, Stanbic IBTC Bank, Nigeria

Investment Bank of the Year 

EFG-Hermes, Egypt

Investment Fund/Private Equity Fund of the Year 

Actis, United Kingdom

Microfinance Institution/Project of the Year 

EB-Accion Savings & Loans Company, Ghana

Most Innovative Bank of the Year

First Bank of Nigeria

Socially Responsible Bank of the Year 

National Bank of Egypt

African Banker Icon

Adebayo Ogunlesi

Central Bank Governor of the Year

HE Emmanuel Tumusiime-Mutebile, Governor of the Bank of Uganda

Finance Minister of the Year

HE Situmbeko Musokotwane Zambia

Lifetime Achievement Award

Evelyn Oputu

(via DailyTimes)